Slight Clarification

Ireland seems a world away from where we’ve just arrived, a little town called Chefchaouen in the Rife Mountains of northern Morocco, so it seems a little odd to still be writing about it. But I did want to make one thing clear about my last post on the Troubles in Northern Ireland. The Republic of Ireland did gain its independence from Great Britain in 1922, just after World War I. In my post, I alluded to Ireland’s full independence coming after World War II, in 1949, I believe. Between 1922 and 1949, Ireland was a part of the Commonwealth of the United Kingdom, but pulled out of that all together as the 5th decade of the 20th century was ending. That’s the independence to which I was referring.

I think I’ve got this right, though I don’t have any reference materials to check my facts at the moment. Feel free to leave a comment or shoot me an email if there’s something that needs further corrections or clarification.

One thought on “Slight Clarification”

  1. John, as you and Anne-Claire travel in and get to know areas where Islam is the predominant religious practice, please let me know what you learn about the significance of the marvelous blue color of the doors to the Mosques. A Google search for images of the town you are visiting, Chefchaouen, shows that this blue is also used for home entrances and to decorate public areas. I recall seeing the blue doorways in the Mosques of Niger. Love to you both. Dad

    Like

Comments are closed.